Barley is a cereal grain that was one of the first domesticated grains in Western Asia, and near the river Nile of northeast Africa. Barley flour is prepared from dried and ground barley. It can also be prepared at home by putting hulled or pearled barley though a grain grinder. Sometimes, Barley flour is also produced as a by-product of the pearling and polishing processes.
Make sure to check for mold or worms inside the packet while buying. Do check the “use-by” date as it indicates the degree of freshness of the flour.
Barley flour is made from barley which contains gluten. Thus people with gluten sensitivity should avoid consuming barley as it may trigger allergic reactions like rashes, inflammation, nausea, and diarrhea. In case of severe allergies, it may also cause life-threatening conditions like anaphylaxis. As barley flour has a lot of fiber, the sudden addition of it in high amounts must not be done as it might not give the body the time to adjust and may cause reactions like stomach bloating. (2)
"Information here is provided for discussion and educational purposes only. It is not intended as medical advice or product or ingredient review/rating. The information may not apply to you and before you use or take any action, you should contact the manufacturer, seller, medical, dietary, fitness or other professional. If you utilize any information provided here, you do so at your own risk and you waive any right against Culinary Communications Private Limited, its affiliates, officers, directors, employees or representatives.”