Preservative 282 is a calcium salt of propionic acid, which is a natural acid present in many foods. Calcium propionate is a naturally occurring organic salt widely used as a food additive. Calcium propionate is a white crystalline solid or powder with odors resembling propionate acids. It acts as a preservative to help extend shelf life by interfering with the growth and reproduction of microorganisms. Besides preserving the food for longer periods of time, calcium propionate also contributes to the nutritional value of the food because it is a source of calcium.
The best part is that calcium propionate is not derived from milk so it is dairy free. People who’re lactose intolerant or with milk allergy can eat the food with it. While calcium propionate can be found naturally in cheeses and may be used to preserve meat and dairy products, commercial E282 is synthesized in a lab and is, for all intents and purposes, vegan-friendly.
Check for the "use by" date on its packaging.
It may cause allergic reactions like hyper immune response. It may also cause eczema, intolerance and skin rashes.(1)
"Information here is provided for discussion and educational purposes only. It is not intended as medical advice or product or ingredient review/rating. The information may not apply to you and before you use or take any action, you should contact the manufacturer, seller, medical, dietary, fitness or other professional. If you utilize any information provided here, you do so at your own risk and you waive any right against Culinary Communications Private Limited, its affiliates, officers, directors, employees or representatives.”